At the time of writing, the pilotweb web sites (www.pilotweb.aero & www.pilotweb.co.uk) seem to have fallen victim either to a hacker or a malicious virus.
If you search for Pilotweb on Google at the moment, the first link returned is www.pilotweb.aero, but instead of taking you straight to the site, Google displays a warning that visiting the site may harm your computer, and result in "...malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent."
If you are running firefox, or have a decent virus scanner installed, you may be denied access to the site altogether to avoid damage to your machine.
I'm not fully aware of the effects of the virus, but one noticeable result seems to be that under the "Planes for sale" section, the drop down lists for "Advert Category" and "Aircraft Manufacturer" have been altered to include script code in an attempt to infect visitors to the page.
According to Google, the site has been infected since 8/7/08. It is now 11/7/08 and the site is still infected and spreading the virus code, so I hope the site developers are at the very least working on the problem. Anyone??
Joined on 13/12/2004
In a world of magnets and miracles.
Posts 68
Re: Site infected by virus
Hi Phil,
I noticed the same thing a few days ago, however according to AVG 8 the site is clean and not a real threat. It is nontheless behaving rather strangely. There appears to be no access to the planes for sale section.
Just to confirm - we are dealing with this issue at present and the relevant IT department contacted us on Thursday to say that the potentially suspicious item had been removed. I have alerted them again to ensure that the problems have been fully resolved.
Thanks for your patience!
Kirsten Corrigan
Online editor